RTD Accountability Committee – August 10th ,2020

Summary: The Regional Transportation District (RTD) board, in collaboration with the Governor of CO and the Transportation chairs of the General Assembly, have created the RTD Accountability Committee. The Committee is fully independent from RTD. DRCOG has agreed to house and provide staff and administrative support and administrative support for this committee.

The committee’s mission is to provide feedback and a set of recommendations for improvement to the operations of and statutes related to RTD, the board and staff of RTD, the Governor, the General Assembly and the public.

The Committee may issue a preliminary report by December 31, 2020, and shall issue a report with recomme3ndations no later than July 1, 2021.

The District shall make each report issued by the Committee availably to the public on its website. The RTD Board shall, within 45 days of issuance of the report, either adopt the recommendations or issue a report stating its reasons for not adopting specific recommendations.

Elise Jones, Boulder County Commissioner and Crystal Murillo, Aurora City Council member have been elected Co-Chairs of the committee.